Brooklyn Museum

Studio54 Night Magic

Gastbeitrag aus New York

Meryl Meisler is sharing thoughts about »Man Carries Judi Jupiter (Film Dress by Meryl), 1978«:

When my friend Judi Jupiter and I frequented Studio 54, I often helped create her fashion attire for the evening. I’d usually bring my medium format camera and  take photos while dancing the night away. The next day I would develop the B&W film in my makeshift darkroom. If my camera was in repair, I would bring a 35mm with color slide film and send the film out to be processed. The negatives were put in pages and labeled with location, month, year and names of some characters and parties. The slides were kept in their boxes and labeled similarly. I didn’t look back, edit or show the disco and other large bodies of work for decades. In retrospect, I realize I’ve been keeping a private visual diary. 

One night in July 1978 I created Judi’s dress using discarded backing paper that protected the B&W film when it was still on the rolls. My medium format camera must have been jammed, so I took the 35mm. The photo is a bit off focus, but the memory is clear as can be. 

March 11, 2020 was the artists and patrons’ reception for Studio54 Night Magic. The place was packed and the energy high. News of 52 people in NYC becoming sick with Covid 19 inspired air kisses and elbow bumps rather than handshakes, hugs and kisses on the cheek. I brought along the same medium format camera, flash and film I used in the ’70s to document some of the attendees who truly followed the suggested dress code: fabulous. There was a DJ, and I stayed until the song »Last Dance« signaled the last dance of the evening. I sensed this would be the last big opening reception for quite a while.

March 12th, the Brooklyn Museum and most other cultural institutions around NYC announced they were closing on March 13th, the day this exhibit was scheduled to open to the public. Studio54 Night Magic, a ground breaking exhibition about the bygone era before the AIDS epidemic is now frozen in time because of the Covid-19 pandemic. 

When it is safe, the Brooklyn Museum and other cultural institutions and galleries will re-open. When the darkroom I use reopens, I’ll develop my film from opening night. Until then, time stands still. We all have to do our part by staying home and using social distancing to stop the virus spread. The arts and humanities help us get through these days of isolation. May the world’s scientists and medical experts work together and guide our governments to lead us through these difficult times for the health and safety of all humanity. 

Meryl Meisler

merylmeisler.com

Exhibition Studio54 Night Magic, Brooklyn Museum, New York
Originally scheduled March 13, 2020 – July 5, 2020

Studio 54 Night Magic is curated and designed by Matthew Yokobosky, Senior Curator of Fashion and Material Culture, Brooklyn Museum.


www.brooklynmuseum.org

Meryl Meisler (American, born South Bronx, 1951), photographer
Man Carries Judi Jupiter (Film Dress by Meryl), 1978 (printed 2019), Archival color pigment print

www.arte.tv about Meryl Meisler’s Disco Photos

Meryl Meisler is represented in NY by CLAMPART

Brooklyn Museum

Studio54 Night Magic

Gastbeitrag aus New York

Meryl Meisler über »Man Carries Judi Jupiter
(Filmkleid von Meryl), 1978«:

Ich half meiner Freundin Judi Jupiter häufig dabei, ihre Kleidung für den Abend zu kreieren, wenn wir das Studio54 besuchten. Normalerweise nahm ich meine Mittelformatkamera mit und machte Fotos, während wir die Nacht durchtanzten. Am nächsten Tag entwickelte ich den Schwarzweißfilm in meiner provisorischen Dunkelkammer. Wenn meine Kamera in der Reparatur war, nutzte ich einen 35-mm-Farbdiafilm und schickte ihn zum Entwickeln. Die Negative heftete ich mit Angaben zu Ort, Monat, Jahr, Party und den Namen einiger Charaktere ab. Die Objektträger wurden in ihren Schachteln aufbewahrt und ähnlich beschriftet. Ich habe nicht zurückgeschaut und jahrzehntelang weder die Disco-Bilder noch andere große Teile meines Werkes bearbeitet oder gezeigt. Rückblickend stelle ich fest, dass ich ein privates visuelles Tagebuch geführt habe.

Eines Nachts im Juli 1978 entwarf ich Judi ein Kleid aus dem weggeworfenen Trägerpapier, das die Schwarzweißfilme geschützt hatte, als sie noch auf den Rollen waren. Meine Mittelformatkamera muss kaputt gewesen sein, also nahm ich die 35-mm. Das Foto ist etwas unscharf, aber die Erinnerung ist ganz klar.

Am 11. März 2020 fand der Empfang für die Künstler und Förderer der Studio54 Night Magic statt. Es war proppenvoll und die Stimmung war hervorragend. Die Nachricht, dass 52 Menschen in NYC an Covid 19 erkrankt waren, führte eher zu Luftküssen und Ellenbogen-Berührungen als zu Händedruck, Umarmungen und Küssen auf die Wange. Ich brachte dieselbe Mittelformatkamera, denselben Blitz und denselben Film mit, die ich in den 70er Jahren verwendet hatte, um einige der Teilnehmer zu dokumentieren, die sich tatsächlich an die vorgeschlagene Kleiderordnung hielten: fabulous. Es gab einen DJ und ich blieb, bis das Lied »Last Dance« den letzten Tanz des Abends ankündigte. Ich ahnte, dass dies für eine ganze Weile der letzte große Eröffnungsempfang sein würde.

Am 12. März gaben das Brooklyn Museum und die meisten anderen Kulturinstitutionen in NYC bekannt, dass sie am 13. März schließen würden, dem Tag, an dem die Ausstellung für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich werden sollte. Studio54 Night Magic, eine bahnbrechende Ausstellung über die vergangene Ära vor der AIDS-Epidemie, ist aufgrund der Covid-19-Pandemie in der Zeit eingefroren.

Sobald es sicher ist, werden das Brooklyn Museum und andere kulturelle Einrichtungen und Galerien wiedereröffnet. Und wenn die Dunkelkammer, die ich benutze, wieder geöffnet hat, werde ich meinen Film vom Eröffnungsabend entwickeln. Bis dahin steht die Zeit still. Wir alle müssen unseren Beitrag leisten, indem wir zu Hause bleiben und Social Distancing nutzen, um die Ausbreitung des Virus zu stoppen. Die Künste und Geisteswissenschaften helfen uns, diese Tage der Isolation zu überstehen. Mögen die Wissenschaftler und medizinischen Experten der Welt zusammenarbeiten und unsere Regierungen anleiten, uns durch diese schwierigen Zeiten für die Gesundheit und Sicherheit der gesamten Menschheit zu führen.

Meryl Meisler

merylmeisler.com

Die Ausstellung Studio54 Night Magic im Brooklyn Museum in New York war ursprünglich geplant vom 13. März bis 5. Juli 2020 und wurde kuratiert und gestaltet von Matthew Yokobosky, Senior Curator für Mode und materielle Kultur, Brooklyn Museum

www.brooklynmuseum.org

Meryl Meisler (American, born South Bronx, 1951), photographer
Man Carries Judi Jupiter (Film Dress by Meryl), 1978 (printed 2019), Archival color pigment print

www.arte.tv über Meryl Meislers Disco Photos

Meryl Meisler is represented in NY by CLAMPART