Marie Antoinette

Marla Hansen

Dust

Marla Hansen would have showcased her new album Dust on 27 March in Marie Antoinette.

After years working as a guest musician for the likes of Sufjan Stevens, The National and My Brightest Diamond, Marla Hansen is now releasing Dust – her first solo album in twelve years. Dust is infused with the weight and wisdom of hand-me-down folk songs. But it also sparkles with the confidence and enthusiasm of an artist who has added fresh colours to her palette. 

The slow-burning method of Dust’s evolution becomes increasingly tangible as the album progresses. Hansen’s classical background comes into wide focus when a solo plucked viola evokes American dreamscapes in technicolour, courtesy of Berlin’s Oriel Quartett. 

The fingerprints of Hansen’s new hometown can be found all over this record. Swashbuckling contributions from Berlin synth pioneer Barbara Morgenstern inject slices of energy like shards of electric glass, while Andi Haberl from The Notwist lurks under every track, his drums simmering like an approaching army of wooden horses. 

New date: 3 September 2020, Marie Antoinette

marlahansen.bandcamp.com

Crowdfunding for the concert series amSTARt

Marie Antoinette

Photo: Nura Qureshi

Marie Antoinette

Marla Hansen

Dust

Marla Hansen hätte am 27. März ihr neues Album Dust im Marie Antoinette vorgestellt.

Nachdem sie jahrelang als Gastmusikerin unter anderem für Sufjan Stevens, The National und My Brightest Diamond gearbeitet hat, bringt Marla Hansen mit Dust ihr erstes Soloalbum seit zwölf Jahren heraus. Dust haftet das Gewicht und die Weisheit von althergebrachten Folks-Songs an. Es funkelt aber auch vor Selbstvertrauen und der Begeisterung einer Künstlerin, die frische Farben auf ihre Palette aufgetragen hat. 

Der langsam köchelnde Entstehungsprozess von »Dust« wird umso spürbarer, je weiter das Album voranschreitet. Ihr klassischer Hintergrund rückt stärker in den Fokus, wenn eine einzeln gezupfte Bratsche sich dank dem Berliner Oriel Quartett zu amerikanischen Traumlandschaften in Technicolor entfaltet. 

Der Einfluss von Hansens neuer Heimatstadt findet sich an jeder Ecke und Kante dieser Platte. In verwegenen Beiträgen bringt die Berliner Synth-Pionierin Barbara Morgenstern Songs zum Knistern, als wären sie Splitter von elektrischem Glas. Andi Haberl von The Notwist schleicht hinter jedem Track umher und sein Schlagzeugspiel brodelt wie eine Armee von Holzpferden. 

Ersatztermin: 3. September 2020, Marie Antoinette

marlahansen.bandcamp.com

Crowdfunding für die mobile Konzert Reihe amSTARt

Marie Antoinette

Photo: Nura Qureshi